Print this page

Welcome to the website of the Taranaki Cycle Park.


The Taranaki Velodrome Trust (now renamed The Taranaki Cycle Park Trust) was formed in May 2006 with the vision of replacing Taranaki’s only velodrome that had been removed to make way for the sports development now known as Yarrow Stadium. That vision grew  to also include a completely vehicle free Road Circuit. There is no other facility like it in New Zealand.

The Taranaki Cycle Park was officially opened on 2 September 2012. It is situated at Hickford Park, Bell Block adjacent to the foreshore pathway - a few kilometers on from the Te Wera Bridge. Or may be accessed by road from Bell Block down Parklands Avenue then follow the sign down Smeaton Road.

The  Park  includes:
1.75km closed road circuit with 2 separate1km loops and a 333 metre velodrome.

Plus added in 2015:
Junior Mini Road circuit with Traffic Lights, Roundabouts etc, Limestone obstacle course, Pump track and
Learners Pad

The Park is open 24/7 and is available for individuals to use unless booked for an event or activity. For details of events and information on booking procedures please check the calendar on the bookings page.

For Disabled access please contact the New Plymouth Disability Centre.

Current Trustees are: Wayne Silby (chairperson), Ian Selby,  Graham Walker, Graham Park and Mike Tapp.

Taranaki Cycle Park Trust
PO Box 724
New Plymouth
New Zealand


Chairperson: Wayne Silby, ph 021 1355 545
Administrator: Pamela Coe, ph 06 758 1313 or 0274 758131


Click here for the HISTORY of the Trust

Latest News

21, Jan, 2015
Click the poster image below to see details of our latest Fundraising event - BDO Around the Mountain Cycle Challenge.  A fun event open to anyone with a bike!
23, Jun, 2009

Check out our Facebook page:

Next page: News